Let’s talk about Katy Perry

A few days ago, my mom sent me the following whatsapp message:

Yes my mom knows who Katy Perry is. Kinda cool right? I think most parents will be horrified if they know their children listen to things like “I kissed a girl”, but my mom isn’t. 

(Or maybe she hasn’t heard that song yet).

Her concern for Katy wasn’t surprising. She’s a mom after all. Actually, I myself was a bit taken a back with her hair cut. Personally, I thought it was too short. But she has a gorgeous face so even in such short hair, she doesn’t look bad. 

To be honest, it wasn’t one of my favourite looks of her. This ones my favourite though.


But she’s a celebrity and celebrities do all sorts of crazy things, right? Wrong.

I saw a therapy session of hers on YouTube. Though such sessions are confidential I think she did a great job by making it live so that everyone could understand her better and realise that celebrities are also human. Like when she started crying while talking about what other people thought of her hair. You would think “Oh my god she’s Katy Perry, she doesn’t think what people think of her hair”. Or you wouldn’t think that someone with such gorgeous breasts would feel insecure about her hair. But then that was exactly the point. She’s just like any one of us and like all of us focus, we focus more on the negative comments than the positive ones.

When she started crying, I forgot that she was Katy Perry. In that moment, she was not a famous singer but just a girl who was crying because of some mean comments. I have been there. I think most of us have. She also went on to reveal a few reasons as to why she chopped it off.

I felt SO guilty, because I too wasn’t a fan of the hair cut initially.

That video made me realise that celebrities are also people, people with feelings. It made me realise that even though we are allowed to have opinions, we shouldn’t be too harsh with our words. And most importantly, that we can’t judge a book by its cover.

Woah! Who knew a therapy session could turn into a brilliant lesson! I want more, Katy Perry!

Your thoughts?

