Souq Waqif: Tajine

If you’re not Moroccan and want to try a different cuisine this week, I recommend Tajeen or Tajin in Souq Waqif. You may have heard of it, it was closed for a while now but they have finished all the necessary renovations and are ready to go.

Best to sit? Rooftop, no questions. Specially during this weather in January.

Last time I went there I had Harira soup which looks somewhat similar to lentil soup but taste wise it was wayyyybetter. Try some with the bread they bring you.

We also ordered chicken grill which I am convinced was not chicken but some magical chicken specially sent from heavens. I took the safest option, ordering a chicken sandwich which was very Moroccan and nothing like the standard club. And truly delicious, truly Moroccan.

Couldn’t try anything with lamb because I hate wasting food (a habit I learned from someone very dear to me) and have this fear it will smell like shit and then I wouldn’t be able to eat the whole thing. But please do try if you have stronger heart than mine.

Let me leave you with a few pictures of the place and the food. Don’t blame; blame my camera.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 comments

  1. Ahhh I love your blogs ! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

