I am Tom-Cruise-Happy

Tomorrow marks two months of being in Doha. Perfect timing for a post!!

Understandably, a lot has changed. For the good? Let’s hope so.

I no longer drink chai like I used to drink it in Pakistan. I think it’s possible that I was using chai as an alternate to water, even if it is hot all year round in Karachi.

Given up one addiction. And taken on another one..

Instead, I have replaced my passion for chai with a similar want for coffee. What’s that saying, out of the fire into the saucepan? I know you were expecting me to switch to drinking herbal tea or something healthy, but then again, it is me you’re talking about.

I no longer work for a place where I hate my immediate supervisor. Or where I am woken up in the middle of the night to ask the password for my computer, even when all computers have identical passwords and IDs. Or where I have to stay over time to finish up work because no one will do it if I don’t. Or where I stay over hours and don’t get paid for it.

Also, I no longer have nightmares about work. Yes, I used to dream about work all the time.

What has changed?

I now work for a company that is not ideal but at least takes care of its employees. I am dealing with the best guests in the world; they are chatty, full of compliments and sweeter than candy.

I have a spacious accommodation and even with the existence of Monkey and all, it is still bearable. My roommate is awesome. There’s a shop inside the vicinity that sells killer Shawarmas. For those of you who don’t know what this is, I am so very sorry. Think burrito.

If I am having a bad day, the Doha Corniche is only a ten minutes walk from work. Or I can hold a “What-is-this-fuckery” session with my best friend who works with me.

I now have time for things other than work. I try and make use of it by practicing mon francais online, but usually I’m just watching Lucifer/Peaky Blinders and as of yesterday, The Night Manager. Which, by the way, is a show you must watch if you’re into Tom Hiddleston or Hugh Laurie or a fan of both or just a fan of their accents.

161201-news-the-night-manager.jpg

Also, I have this new passion for blogging again. So thanks to Doha, y’all will be hearing from me very often now.

To be honest, the first month I wasn’t sure if I had made the right decision by coming here. I mean, it’s not Europe, they are still pretty strict about a few things in general but I am considerably happier and grateful then before.

And just in case you are wondering what the fuck Tom Cruise Happy means…

12 comments

  1. Good to hear how you’re getting on!

    Like

    1. Thanks Ritu! It’s been a while since I have visited your blog. Will drop by soon.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Any time Zareen 😊

        Like

  2. Yay to your new found happiness! I’m glad you’re settled and are enjoying your new job 🙂 … And enjoying a nice cup of coffee! (I can’t drink hot drinks in hot countries… I get too…umm…HOT!)

    Good to see ya on my blogging wall again. I’ve missed YOU! ❤️

    Like

    1. I will try not to disappear now. I’ll be on your wall a lot now!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I have missed you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to know your perception is positive. Hope it matches reality.

    Like

    1. I try and see the positive sides in things.
      Try and see…

      Like

  4. Hehe I suspected that there will be a Cruis-Oprah gif

    Like

    1. It was mandatory!

      Like

  5. Glad to see you are doing well. Ah, The Night Manager. How is ‘Dicky Roper’ doing on the show?I read the book some time, but never imagined Hugh Laurie could play ‘Dicky Roper’. 😀

    Like

    1. I couldn’t think of a better person playing Dick Roper!

      Like

Your thoughts?

