Yeah, I Have No Class

It beats me how someone working in the hospitality industry for three years can be so awkward on one on one interactions. Really, I have disappointed myself. Besides emotionally blackmailing my boss to give me annual leaves, the other achievement of the week was that I went on a date.

 

(Source)

We wanted to try something different. Since there’s not much to do in Karachi, he suggested we go to a Japanese restaurant.

It was a fantastic idea. Only I had never been to a Japanese restaurant. Like ever. I had never tasted Japanese cuisine. And I didn’t have a clue how to use chopsticks (I still don’t). I didn’t tell him any of that though. I didn’t want to sound like someone who never been to classy places on dates before because the only guys I had dated were cheap douche bags.

We decided to meet at 8:30. Then at 9:30. Then again at 8:30. By that time, I had taken off my dress and worn it again two times now.

(Source)
I detest dressing up for dates. I pick up an outfit first, then fret over it, change into three different outfits and in the end, I go with the one I had chosen first. I didn’t know if he would like me to be a total girl and put on a girly dress. I didn’t know if I should try a chic hairstyle or let my hair down. I just relied on Google’s suggestions for “What To Wear On A First Date“. Sheesh, maybe I should get a girlfriend.

I tried on my pink lipstick from Caprice, only to realize that it wasn’t the exact shade that I had wanted it to be. WHAT THE FUCK. I tried and not let it get to me. He said I didn’t need lipstick anyway. Probably because he wanted to rub it off with his lips, but whatever.

So I reached the hotel, and the first thing he tells me is not how beautiful I look but that I have lipstick on my teeth. Thank you, Google, for leaving that one out. I was kind of grateful to him for pointing out though. He’s a bit too blunt. I like that.

 We had nice seats with a great view of the city. The waiter came up to us and lit the candle on our table.

Oh my god. I really need to go to more classy restaurants.

 He knew I didn’t have a clue what to order so he ordered for us.  Tempura fish, tuna, something round like rice mashed together maybe, soup, and some beef thing.

Then came the moment of truth: Using Chopsticks.

 

417079172115a1857189fdb8d83fecf2

(Source)

I came clean. He didn’t seem to care, so I just used a fork and a knife. 

 The waiter came with the dishes one by one, pondering over where to place that dish. I thought it had something to do with the size of the table. But as my date pointed it out: “Do me a favour, and put your napkin on your lap.

class

(Source)

I swear I always do that when I’m out. I tell my younger brothers to do it too. I was so caught up in my inefficiency to use chopsticks that I forgot. Sooooooo embarrassing. Embarrassing than lipstick on teeth.

 Oh my god. Why didn’t i do that? I think he knows by now that I don’t go out to classy restaurants at all.

We had a nice time talking. He was the one doing most of the talking. It was a good thing because I have always been the more talkative one in a relationship; it’s nice to be on the flip side for a change.

To be honest, the food was great. No wonder Carl used to order Japanese every time he came. The tempura fish was okay. The tuna was lovely, specially with the sauce type thing you soaked it into, never mind that the waiter had actually poured thousand island dressing all over it. The round things I didn’t try but the beef thing was too good. The soup was salty and the green tea wasn’t too strong. But all in all, i liked it. Way better than Thai food.

shutterstock_6142846(Source)

I liked it. I liked the bald waiter who wasn’t too attentive but he was making an effort. I liked that we were talking about random things, work and life in general, and it wasn’t too boring. I liked that he tries using Urdu words whenever he could. I liked that he liked my orange dress even thought it was too bright for a dinner.

It was awkward at some parts but fun. He probably did like me too because he is still talking to me. Maybe I’m slightly classy after all.

I have no clue where this is going or what it even is but I think I should go along with it because it’s awkward and fun and weird and confusing but good. Doimakeanysense?

//

Zareen Naqvi

17 comments

  1. Zareen! You are sooo adorable! I loved reading your first date jitters with this guy! Lol! Glad you liked Japanese food and enjoyed the night out! Of course he liked you and wants to keep talking to you! 🙂 xo
    (Lipstick on teeth part had me laughing! I soooo know the feeling!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwww thanks! I’m glad you liked it!

      You think so? I kinda like him too. It’s new so I don’t want to think about it much. But we had fun.

      Hahah has that happened to you to or am I the only one? I’m just glad he pointed it out. Or else I’d be sitting with lipstick on my teeth all night. Super embarrassing!

      Thanks for the comment and the follow 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you as well!
        How fun that you liked him and that it went so well given how nervous you were. 🙂
        I definitely have had lipstick on my teeth! Lol! Which is why I was paranoid the whole night of this, food in my teeth, something on my face, etc. sometimes it is so tough to be a girl! Lol!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m glad it did. First dates are always tough. A good first date means you’re going to be okay. We went out again by the way. It was even better than the first date!

          I know there is no question about that, girls are always pressured a lot!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Wow! I’m impressed!!! He is obviously really into you! Fun!!!

            Liked by 1 person

  2. wormtape · · Reply

    Wow, you blog in such an interesting and entertaining way! It was so fun reading this. Haha. I can’t believe he told you off for not putting a napkin on your lap! I don’t think I’d go on a date with a guy who makes me even a bit uncomfortable. But then, no one really asks me out.

    And I can’t believe you’ve never had Japanese! Haha. It’s so good! I think the rice mashed together would be sushi or maki. If the soup isn’t salty, it’s really good! I have a feeling it’s miso soup. Mom loves making Japanese food here. 🙂 Do you like the guy? If yes, you should continue going out with him? If not, or if it’s half-hearted, I think you should be a bit reserved. But then that’s just me. Good luck with stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it has more to do with ..um maybe he’s just blunt. I don’t know. Maybe it’s a manners thing or like I said “class” thing that I don’t possess, apparently!

      Yeah, but I’m glad I did! You know, I go to restaurants all the time but I have never tried new cuisines before. But it’s fun, specially to do it with someone you like. Yeees, maybe it was sushi. Hmm.

      I think I like him. He’s nice to hang out with. We talk and I think we do connect. Only time can tell!
      Thanks for the advice, babe! I’m keeping my expectations low just in case

      Like

      1. wormtape · · Reply

        Hope everything works out! I’m not really the best person to give advice when it comes to these things haha. But good luck!

        Like

        1. You know, I always appreciate advice from my friends because I know it’s in my best interest. And it makes me feel like people care. So thank you 🙂

          Like

  3. Adi, the Happy Lifeaholic · · Reply

    I will admit this post had me laughing me ass off 😀 First off, I’m super glad you got invited on a date!!!! YAAAAAAAY 😀 😀 😀 ❤ Much happy. Many congrats. Very excite.
    But for real – next time you can't make your mind up with a dress of something and need a "girlfriend" to help you decide, hit me up! ^_^ It sounds like you had a fun date overall. I mean yeah, you messed up a few times (Fuck chopsticks! Those things are the spawn of the devil!) but he's still talking to you, so he probably found that refreshing! Keep us updated on this date scenario! 😀 And by us, I mean me. (Totes not selfish!) K bye ❤

    Like

    1. Adi, the Happy Lifeaholic · · Reply

      also the napkin thing was stupid. Why did he point that out? I’m sure you would have noticed!
      And the lipstick thingy happened to me as well 😀 Good thing I’m brown and you can’t tell when I go red!

      Like

      1. Can you believe it that the second place that we went to, they didn’t give us napkins and he pointed out that again!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Adi, the Happy Lifeaholic · · Reply

          That’s amusing! 😀

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Haha he’s crazy!

            Liked by 1 person

    2. Hahaha. I was more glad I got asked out. Haha.
      Awww, okay next time I’m having trouble I’ll definitely give you a buzz!

      It actually seems we are going okay. I had a fun second date! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Adi, the Happy Lifeaholic · · Reply

        Ooooooh second date? DO TELL!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. […] of lately, I have been introduced to Sashimi and there is nothing better than that. So, Sashimi, Fries and […]

    Like

Your thoughts?

