I Joined A Dating Site

Now, hold on. There’s a perfectly reasonable explanation for this.

It just happened.

I was forced to a ten day hiatus from work. Which meant I had all the time in the world to sit at home and stare at the ceiling for hours, trying to figure out what the fuck to do with my life.

To avoid these bitter doses of reality, I decided to distract myself by meeting random strangers online on these new sites.

It was only after three days that I realized that it was NOT a Make-a-new-friend site, but a dating site. What the fuck?

For someone who had never been on one, I used to think that online dating sites are the answer to the prayers of workaholics. Who else would need a dating site?

I had my reasons for not joining one. As a child of divorce and numerous heart breaks, I have developed trust issues. Which is why it is incredibly hard for me to trust people, let alone people I have never actually met.

That being said, I do have a few friends online. So I guess I have mixed feelings about this whole thaang.

Since it is a dating site, everyone is for one thing: SAAXXXX

Everyone likes it. And everyone likes responding to it. But it is a bit weird when a message pops up on the screen, from complete stranger, asking whether you’d like your lady parts to be licked.

IMG_1708.GIF

Dear stranger, thank you for being so generous as to offer your service to satisfy my sexual desires but it’s kind of creepy that you’re ten years older than my dad and that you still write LiK3 dix.

And everyday is a struggle, being bombarded with these or similar weird messages:

Are you an angel?

Our babies vil b so cute πŸ˜„

Yo girl I want frandship with yew

Let’s meet up

A recent hate comment caught me a bit off guard. He had commented on the one picture I have displayed on my profile:

Is this your face? Or did a car crash into a pole?

This by a 28 year old, single guy who refused to admit that this was a hate comment and asked me to not be offended as his job was just to “show you the reality“. This coming from a guy who doesn’t have a profile photo and himself hides behind the picture of a baby.

IMG_1705.JPG
Hmm, I might have a clue why he is single.

Apart from the weirdness and stalkerishness and over looking the creepy pedophiles, it’s not too bad of a site I guess. I’ll admit that online dating is hard, and whereas I don’t take the site as seriously, to a lot of people it is the only way of meeting their potential other half. I even met a guy who told me that he found his wife on the internet!

IMG_1701.JPG

I was bent on deleting this app as soon as I got back to work. Surprisingly though, I have met a few people who are not only pretty but can hold a conversation as well.

Just out of curiousity, I am gonna go out on a limb and see where this goes.

What do you guys feel about online dating? What are your view on dating apps like Tinder and Flurve etc?Can someone really find love online?

Zareen Naqvi

24 comments

  1. I tried some but got bored of them as soon as I logged in for the first time. Many people behave quite in a ‘phony’ way there which is least accepted by me. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! There are quite a lot of phonies there.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking forward to reading how you get on I wouldn’t have the guts but I know a few people who have meet there boyfriends on them πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not actively looking for anything but if it happens- i can’t help it! πŸ˜€

      Thanks so much for reading Carol ❀

      Like

  3. I recently gave a try too!
    I actually came to the conclusion it was easier to find better looking people on Tinder than when going to a bar; but I am aware of how superficial this sounds.
    People who are actively seeking for something kind of scare me because finding ‘love’ is not like shopping groceries. Not for me, at least πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s almost the same with me. I’m not looking for anything but if something were to happen- you never know πŸ˜‰

      Like

    2. Thanks for reading Yessica!

      Like

  4. It’s a shame that there are so many dregs out there to ruin it, because dating sites are a logical extension of our digital society — how you separate the wheat from the chaff will make for an interesting experience, for sure. Good luck with it, Z.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. It’s a great way of meeting people with similar tastes- given that the profiles are real.
      Ah, thanks πŸ˜€
      Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. There should be a way of screening people — verifying who/what they are before they can sign up for one of those.

        Like

  5. I know some friends who have gotten boyfriends through Tinder. I met someone via Tinder as well, but we went to high school together so I don’t think that really counts (and eventually he dumped me for someone else) so I think that you just have to be lucky not to meet a psycho πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh! I’m sorry to hear that babe 😦

      Well, i guess it is worth a try. Fingers crossed that I don’t get stuck with a psycho.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I won’t touch dating sites even with a 10 foot pole for exactly the same types of reasons you shared. Weirdos really and yes, there can be hateful ones too for whatever chip they may have on their shoulders. Sigh! Heck even men I know for years can get really sucky! Single hood till the right chap comes along. If not, I will be old crotchety with single friends is my philosophy. Trust is never easy to give. Trust to me, has to be earned. But I am old fashioned I guess…chin up! There are nice people out there. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can relate to it. God, I have such mixed feeling about this issue! Well yes, trust is extremely hard to give. Which is probably why I’m not looking for something serious. I don’t want to get involved and get hurt. Again.

      But well..I’m liking my status now.. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You go Gal!! Stay happy and have a lovely work week ahead πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Never been on a dating site..met my husband through a matrimonial site though! but loved the guy with the baby picture anecdote!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s kind of the same. Well, not exactly but..well, yeah…but…
      Hahahaha! Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading!! πŸ˜€

      Like

  8. I know a lot of people who use online dating sites. I would just be very very careful, there are so many CRAZIES out there! I’ve heard so many great stories about finding love, but I’m a skeptic! Thanks for sharing such a personal note. I’m curious to see how it goes, and wish that you find someone wonderful. πŸ˜‰

    Maria
    http://theclassifiedchic.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know I’m open to “fun” but I’m also scared at the same time. Ha. Let;s see how this goes!

      I’ll let you know if I have any vague/weird/awesome thing happening to me! Thanks for reading, Maria!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m glad to be married. This is all I can say on the matter. haha!

    My dating days were somewhat horrifying. I’ll writing a blog about it…one day!

    Keep us posted on your online dating goings-on!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! Well, i hope you will always stay happy in your marriage!

      Dating sucks honestly. I have intimacy issues. I can’t let people in that easily. Arrrgghh!

      Ah, well i’m not actively looking for anything or building my hopes but you never know!

      Like

      1. You have every right to not want to let people in so easily. There are a lot of strange folk out there!

        You’ll find someone when the time is right πŸ™‚

        But for now, enjoy the random dates and telling us all about your funny dating stories!

        Like

        1. I will haha!

          Liked by 1 person

  10. […] all started when I returned from my forced hiatus to L’hotel. I expected to be met with a flurry of hugs and overly concerned voices of phonies telling me just […]

    Like

Your thoughts?

