I’m just pissed they’re all dead now

I always say I don’t have any regrets. That’s a lie. I do have one and I blame my parents for it.

Had they not been so selfish, they would have married ages ago. I wouldn’t have been born so late, missing out all the fun in the best eras ( the 80’s and the 90’s). I was born in 1993, but had I been born sooner, I would have had at least half the chance of meeting some crazy-ass, amazing people.

Or even those born later. Forgive me, I’m just pissed they are all dead now.

Syd Barrett

I didn’t even know he existed, until I clicked on his picture while researching about famous schizophrenics. Most people don’t even know how crucial a part of Pink Floyd he was, because all people listen to are the songs after he left the band. Let me tell you: He was Pink Floyd. He came up with the name, for starters, and the psychedelic effect that Pink Floyd was all about, was actually his creation. He was an amazing musician, who was graciously gifted with a strong stage presence. It’s a pity how it all ended. A lot of people claim that he went cuckoo because of his addiction to LSD. Or developed schizophrenia. Or was autistic. It’s difficult to say because he was always very cynical and odd-humored from the rest. Whether his erratic behavior was due to a mental disease or an effect of some drug, there’s no doubt that he was an absolute fucking genius.

Jimi Hendix

Amazing, amazing musician. I have absolutely no words to describe him because I have never seen a man playing the guitar with his mouth. We are told not to use the word god to describe a human being but I’m going to be a rebel and say it out loud: He was a guitar GOD!

Freddie Mercury

He was born Faroukh Bualsara. He was a Parsi. DID YOU KNOW?!

The first time I heard of him was not as a member of Queen but because someone had compared him to Adam Lambert. I had to see who this guy was. As much as I have seen and heard, he is brilliant. I have never seen him live, but if there’s one thing I know, it’s this: If he was even half as entertaining as Adam is on stage, teasing the audience, keeping them engaged throughout, I have missed out big time!

DJ AM

I first read about him in a magazine, that covered his failed suicide attempt because the gun hadn’t gone off. His father had verbally abused him, he was overweight and an addict. Which made him want to take his life. Which he almost did. After that attempt didn’t go as planned, he cleaned up his act and attended AA meetings. He was sober for a while but it was during he started shooting for Gone Too Far, a show where he staged interventions for addicts, that he started using again. He died days later, due to an overdose. I was so mad. I couldn’t believe it. He was an exceptionally talented man and would have made a good career had it not been for the unfortunate circumstances.

Princess Diana

I don’t even need to explain why I wanted to meet her. I’m obsessed!

Who are some of the dead celebs you’d like to meet? Do you know any of these people, except of course lady Di?

Zareen Naqvi

46 comments

  1. Oh my gosh, I feel so old reading your post – I was a teenager in the late 80s, at Uni in the early 90s…Kurt Cobain, Nirvana etc etc….I *wish* I’d been alive to experience the jazz clubs of the 20s….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re lucky! The 80s was the best era! You’re ten times cooler to me now 🙂
      I know his death was hard on soo many people but i wasn’t a fan of Nirvana so i never really knew how good he was. A lot of people think his suicide wasn’t real. There’s a lot of controversy around that.

      Like

    2. Hey and thanks for commenting 😀

      Like

  2. wow – this is so touching – they all had a great history to remember!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amazing, true geniuses! My heroes 🙂
      Hey, thanks for commenting ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are indeed correct – I hope to see you on my blogs as well, I appreciate it sincerely!

    Like

    1. I’d be right over!

      Like

      1. Thank you – One last question- where is your origin of your name?

        Like

        1. I have realized now that its a persian/iranian name that means gold/golden/something that shines. But im from pakistan. My great grandparents were from Iran.

          Like

          1. The meaning of the name Zarina is Golden
            The origin of the name Zarina is Arabic
            Wow, Glad to meet you – Enjoyable post always:)

            Like

            1. Yeah but there’s a different between Zareen and Zareena. Well, I do tell people that it means golden because I met an Iranian guy who asked me if i was Iranian. I’d rather be Iranian than Arabic. Even though I am Muslim, I’m not so keen on the Arabs.

              Nice to meet you too buddy! 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Pleasure & Nice to meet you:)
                kmihran@hotmail.com

                Cheers;

                Miran:)

                Like

            2. Hey are you..do your work at a hotel?

              Liked by 1 person

              1. My parents owners of hotels such as JW Marriott, Renaissance and Hilton. As part of protocol I need to respect my parents presence in the hotel investment. I myself professional pianist and have a musical band, Do you understand Turkish too?

                Like

                1. Are you kidding me?! I work for one of these brands. WOW. That’s so cool.

                  Hospitality is my passion. But I’m just as passionate about music.

                  No, sir. Urdu, English and slight French. I can say “Tsekur” in turkish. Means thank you.

                  Like

                  1. which hotel do you work? are you in management position? If you need further to move to higher position, I can make that happen. Do you Skype?

                    Like

                    1. I don’t know if I can say it here. I have never mentioned where I work at in my blog to avoid bad publicity because sometimes I do rant about work.

                      No, I’m working as a guest relations officer for almost two and a half years now. It’d be great to move up. Yeah I do.

                      Like

                    2. of course, very good idea – you can email me – kmihran@hotmail.com

                      Cheers – Miran

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. Alrighty! Will mail you soon! Thanks 🙂

                      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great musicians! Fret not…..at least you are young! 😀
    Keep on rocking Zareenn!

    Like

    1. Ah, i wish i could see one of them live you know?
      Haha thanks. Hey its a pity youre not on facebook, because i keep seeing all these pictures of Garfield on facebook and keep thinking of you!

      Like

      1. Thanks for thinking of me 🙂 through my furry fur bar friend Garfield! It is nice of you. Have a great day ahead!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I too would loved to see Freddie Mercury performing live! There are some moments in one’s life which are irreplaceable and that moment would have been one of those!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Didn’t know you were a fan of Freddie! Ah, you’re right!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am a big fan of his Bohemian rhapsody!!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. “Mama just killed a man, put a gun against his head, pull my trigger now he’s dead…”

          Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s all a cycle of life, Zareen. I saw the folks you regret you missed, but wish I’d been a little older to appreciate Jimi and Janis for what they were in the moment, on on retrospect. And I regret that I missed Robert Johnson down in the Delta selling his soul to the devil to establish the soul of U.S. blues, and cats like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He really sold his soul to the devil? Gosh, it scares me to just think of it. I can’t imagine how it must have gone!

      Like

      1. Google Robert Johnson and Mississippi blues, Zareen, and read the history. Quite the tale.

        Like

        1. Hey! Thanks for recommending it i always love reading such stories! So do you believe he actually sold his soul to the devil?

          Like

          1. I believe that he believed he did. That’s just as important!

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Oh it was like that? Wow!

              Like

  7. Ahhh, I’m partially with you on this one, Zareed… Partially because I was born in 1981 (my mom was 21 so I could never tell her “hey, you should’ve had me with 14” – probably not a fair request. Anyways, as I was saying, I’m partially with you because… I think we both missed the best action and that was during the mid to late 60’s which means the hot spot to come to earth was between 1948 and 1951. That’s the sweet spot that would’ve allowed going through the late 60’s with enough ID age to get access to the coolest gigs on earth… So in my next life, those are my variables for re-encarnation (if such thing exists): 48 to 51, born somewhere in the US or UK. And by the way, Syd was amazing. It’s great you found him – he was indeed Pink Floyd together with Waters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arrggggghh, I hate typoooooos!! Especially when I do it on my fellow bloggers’ names!!!! Zareen!
      Now corrected 😀

      Like

      1. That’s okay! 🙂

        Like

    2. My mom read it and ahe said the same thing!

      That’d be cool, being reborn! I’d probably choose the U.K but remind me again where you’re from?

      Yes, yes! I’m obsessed with him ❤ it's hard to describe him but he was amaZing 🙂

      Thanks for commenting André!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Zareen, I was born in Lisbon, Portugal and live in Germany, beautifully centralized in the heart of old Europe and enjoying every single step of the way 🙂

        Like

  8. Hahaha—- well, I totally get you on the missed-out on some great Jimi Hendrix 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Truuuuueee that bud! Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Gosh! Your’re making me feel sooo old! Born in 1993!

    Not to rub it in…but I feel very fortunate to be born in the 80’s and a child through the 90’s… The 2000’s weren’t so inspiring, were they?

    If only your parents married sooner!

    But as they say, every positive had a negative…or something like that. And as I reach my …late twenties (so depressing to say!) you are still young and hip! I’m trying to do the math, but I haven’t got the brain power! You must early twenties?

    So, yep! Rather than wish your life away…enjoy the prime of your youth, and revel in the fact that your have great music taste! 🙂

    Like

  10. Knew them all apart from DJ AM. I guess you have to try and look at the positive in that they at least shared the gifts despite all the pressures they were under.

    Like

    1. Yes, i guess. DJ AM was a DJ so he probably isn’t know by many people.

      Hey, thanks for reading and commenting Alex 🙂

      Like

  11. unique blame 🙂

    Like

  12. Heath Ledger died too, like gone. He was the love of my life ❤

    Like

    1. I know, he was a really talented actor.

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

