Malala, not Malaria, Naomi Campbell

When something comes up in the news, praise and criticism surrounds it. Although when it comes to Malala Yousufza, all I see is praise. So many celebrities. Even people like Naomi Campbell who auto corrected her name to Malaria.Yes, there are occasional negative comments here and there and pages built by believers of conspiracy theories but these are just irrational rants that one shouldn’t pay heed to. So I guess, my post is going to be the first negative article about her.

Unlike Malala haters here, I don’t necessarily think she’s fake. After all, that girl took a bullet. Literally. Shot in the face so brutally, it took surgeons in Pakistan as well as in UK to fix it. I also don’t think it was a staged attack. Because that would be just too low an attempt to gain publicity an fame.

StepDad sent me this video by Adam Ellick, a NY Times reporter who was covering her story before she got famous. I have watched it ten times. You should watch it at least once.


Malala Yousufzai, a bright, young girl in Swat who hoped to become a doctor. Her father, Ziauddin Yousufzai, an open educational activist, owned a line of schools that were pro girl’s education.. In a city like Swat, where the Taliban condemn women getting education, to fight for such a cause is a brilliant example of bravery. Even after the Taliban announced their final warning regarding such schools, Ziauddin continued to keep his school open, with necessary security measures taken.

This was the story I knew until I saw this video. It made my perspective turn around a whole 360 degree. I still think that Mr. Yousufzai must have significant efforts to promote girl’s education. But I can’t help but wonder if the motives were sincere. Was it because he really wanted to make a difference? Or was it because his family income depended on that school because of which he couldn’t bear to have it shut down? Was he, not Malala, after wealth? Did he, knowingly or unknowingly, used Malala to get there?

I have seen the documentary over and over again. I don’t see an educational activist. I see a man who’s trying to save a business that is in shambles.I see a man, a very typical Pakistani father forcing his daughter to pursue his dreams for him. Notice how determined she is to become a doctor at the beginning of the video. But as time passes by, through parental influence or guilt, she gives in and makes it her mission to fulfill her father’s wishes.

 Our culture tells us to respect our parents and abide by their wishes. Our culture doesn’t ask parents to stifle their kid’s wishes.

Can you see how he forces her to just say her part when she’s sitting at the conference? She looks scared and obviously too young to understand what is going around her. And still she’s pushed into the spotlight. A grown man fighting for girls’ education is nothing to write home about. But it definitely turns a few heads, when an 11 year old, from a city like Swat, comes to the podium and speaks up for girls’ education.

Lest there be any confusion, I think her father is a cunning man who used her to gain wealth and fame.

And what’s with all this Nobel Prize bullshit?  I think she doesn’t deserves it. She thinks so too. All she has done is gotten shot in the face by the Taliban who perceived her to be some sort of rising leader of girls’ education. And yeah, she gave that one speech about “all we need is our pens”. That’s it. She has started a campaign but that is nowhere near complete yet.

But, it actually doesn’t matter since she and many winners before her, hadn’t actually done anything to deserve it.

Malala currently resides in Birmingham, U.K and is receiving better education than she would have in Pakistan. She also has Honorary Canadian Citizenship. Her father is now the United Nations Special Advisor on Global Education. One can’t help but notice how a stop has been put to promotion of girl’s education, now that the financial crisis have been resolved.

What’s your perspective on the Malala case? I wanna hear you!

3 comments

  1. Z: your viewpoint is fascinating- and since you are a native of Pakistan, I read it with great interest. I respect your candor.

    From my own very limited perspective, if what went on with Miss Malala’s publicity in any way positively affects educational opportunities for children, I see it as a good thing.

    Cheers ! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey thanks for reading!

      I agree with you, but I still think her father is a cunning man. I think it helped raise awareness and I would want her to actually do something to promote it.
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I think you might be right suspecting a more mercenary motive on the part of others involved.

        Like

Your thoughts?

