Ice Bucket Challenge VS Smile Pakistan Challenge

If you’re a regular reader, you might be aware of my fondness for gifs. What I love about them is how many I options do I have to express my emotions to you all. Here’s how I feel about the Ice Bucket Challenge or #IceBuck..whatever..

 I mean, really? REALLY?

It’s such a dumb thing to do. I am not even going to go look for a synonym to explain how stupid people look pouring ice cold water all over themselves because it’s cool.

The craze regarding “But first let me take a selfie” was hard enough on my life since it initiated a super duper fun selfie contest at our hotel. Can you imagine? I thought we were all grown ups doing serious business.

But this is outrageous. The stupidity is just beyond.

Outraged as I am by the stupidity of this lame Ice Bucket Challenge, I’m amazed to see how easy it is to get people to do absolutely senseless things. All you need to do is create a hype about it, through our beloved social feeds like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and what not. And voila, there you have it. Everyone, all around the world is doing it. Like it’s actually of some use.

You may call me lifeless. Or say that I’m not fun anymore. But I’m sorry I just think drenching yourself in freezing water equates uselessness. Not to mention the waste of perfectly drinkable water. Not to mention the stupidity.

And the country, which was the last country to have come up with something slightly productive, did. I’m so proud to say that even though a lot of dumb people are busy pouring water over their heads, a group of enthusiastic teenagers have decided to do a different challenge than a dumb one like this. The focus is on actually doing something useful, like helping people or cleaning up a street. They are using #SmilePakistanChallenge to encourage people to post videos on something more fruitful than wasting water.

Please, do check it out guys. If only more people in Pakistan were like this.

 

New on Orange Shoes Talking: My fiction fantasies in Beyond Hotel Sheets:These nuts are small!

 

6 comments

  1. I mean sure I agree that it’s waste of water when there are so many people in the world who have no clean water to drink. The ice bucket is way to a let people know what ALS is and to be honest I had no clue what it was before this challenge so I did some research, now I’m aware of the illness and it makes me sad that people who have ALS suffers to a slowly death. I think people who have possibility to donate money to different charities or causes should do that. It’s only YOU who chose what’s important cause for you. But what makes me “sad” about this bucket challenge is when many people don’t explain WHY they are doing it and if they have the time to pour water for a cause then do something about it too by donating at least 5$ or whatever you can afford. I think it’s kind of wrong to call people stupid for doing the ice bucket challenge especially when many people are helping the research of ALS which is a horrible illness. But everybody are intitle to their oppinion and I respect that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Damn! I should have done my research right! I totally totally agree with what you have said and I’m really sorry if I offended you.

      The focus of this post was on the stupidity of pouring water but majorly on the #SmilePakistanChallenge. I was also in a way trying to say that I would rather do something that’s useful. Like you said, that people can donate money instead of doing it. I wasn’t mocking ALS or anything like that. It was just the act that I thought was a bit useless.

      Regardless, I am sorry if you were offended by my comments. I appreciate you so much for writing to me and correcting me. I love people who say what they have to, those who say what’s true. You probably didn’t enjoy my post but thanks so much for your feedback. I learned so much!

      Like

      1. Don’t feel bad! I don’t feel offended, I guess that you didn’t fully understand the “ice bucket challenge” but many people didn’t know it either. I just felt writing so IF anyone would be offended you would know why. Like I said everyone are intitled to their oppinion so no need to say sorry 🙂 But I understand your point with the post and yes it’s great with the #SmilePakistanChallenge, any good change in my parents country is a positive thing to me 🙂 Hope you have a great day 🙂

        Like

        1. Oh I just wanted you to know that I appreciate you so much for pointing it out. Thank you once again 🙂

          Your parents are from Pakistan? That’s cool! Where do you live?

          Like

  2. I like reading different opinions…I kind of agree with you about doing practical things to raise awareness and change the world BUT if doing outrageous things gets people to open their eyes than sometimes that can work.

    Like

  3. […] This post is triggered by a comment from a Hugxheart, who I admire for speaking out to something she thought is wrong. Check out her blog, she seems like and is a very sweet person and I’m sure she meant well when she left on my post “Ice Bucket Challenge VS Smile Pakistan Challenge“. […]

    Like

Your thoughts?

