I am not a people’s person

And I think I may have chosen the wrong career field. You see, my job requires me to be humble, an epitome of politeness, a breath of fresh air. The management pays me (poorly, though) to be the perfect lady, with the perfect smile, who laughs at the guest’s funny (or not so funny) jokes in an attempt to make them feel special and cared for.

perfect lady laugh

WHAT THEY WANT

 

awkward laugh

WHAT THEY GET

 

I’m such a disappointment.

Of course, it doesn’t mean that I say rude things to the guest’s face. Even if I have to keep a hand on my mouth to stop me from saying so. I do, however, fantasize about beating the rude ones with a bat or something.

And I don’t entirely blame the people. Sure, they are allย hypocrites, narrow minded, assholes but the fault lies with me too. I’m incredibly picky when it comes to people. I don’t do the instant-mix-thing: meeting someone for the first time and acting like “besties” five minutes later. I take a long, long while to let people in.

In general, I hate most human beings. But there are some qualities that I just can’t stand:

1. Slow Walkers

You ever wonder why all the people who like to walk fast get stuck behind the slow ones? It’s fate. You just can’t escape it.

2. Bullies

If you’re a follower, you should know why.

3. Liars

liar

Nobody likes them. See, I have had my fair share of liars in the past who have given me nothing but painful memories and trust issues. So if you lie to me, the chances of us being friends seem puuurrttyy skint.

4. People who say “I have to tell you something” and then trail off

You have to ask why would someone say they have to tell you something and then just go “Oh okay,nevermind”, after creating a hype. Like, seriously,ย why?It’s torture.

5.ย Borrow-ers

I don’t have a sister and I never had female cousins either. Not the ones that I liked, anyway. So I’m not familiar with this borrowing procedure and neither do I want to be. I hate it when people ask me for a particular lip gloss of mine that I haven’t even tried yet or the pair of heels that still has the price tag on. It makes me feel like I have a leech stuck to my skin.

6. Touching my phone

dont touch my phone

No one touches my phone. No one. It’s “my” phone for a reason. And anyway, why would anyone want to touch someone else’s phone?

7. Fake people

fake

Need I say more?

8. Waiting

waiting

I absolutely hate waiting for someone, since I’m almost never late for anything. I have zero patience. I can’t wait for anything- be it a phone call or something that someone has to tell me. I know curiosity kills the cat. But I’d rather they kill me than keep me in the dark.

9. Literally

Not the word. Just the people who over use literally, in literally every freaking sentence. Specially the ones whose first language is English. C’mon guys!

I know I said I disliked people in the beginning, but it didn’t include you guys. Actually, you guys are the best.

I still won’t allow anyone of you to touch my phone, though.

What are your pet peeves? Do you( like me) get irritated easily? Do you also have zero tolerance? Does this post make me seem like a difficult person?

19 comments

  1. Haha! I was nodding my head along to all of these! Especially; fake people, liars, bullies and the overuse of the word ‘literally’…Argh! Oh, and I don’t like people touching my phone either! It sends me into some sort of frenzie…I just don’t like it!

    Ps; I was wondering if you would like to write a ‘guest post’ for my blog? I’m thinking about doing a monthly ‘guest post’ spot. I really like your writing style and would love for you to write for my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a think about it…

    Bye for now x

    Like

    1. It’s AH-MAZING how I have more in common with the people I meet here than the ones I meet every day. I’m relieved you don’t think I’m a neurotic person!

      Yes! Yes! Why not?! I don’t need to think about it..I would love to!! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      1. Oh yay! This makes me HAPPY ๐Ÿ™‚

        I will probably introduce my first ‘guest post’ at the end next month. You can be my first ever guest poster if you want? If you don’t fancy being the first one – I have a few other people interested. I’ll leave it up to you – I’m pretty easy going, as you know! Whenever you’re ready!

        Ps; I don’t think you’re neurotic in the slightest!

        Like

        1. I will be very, very happy to be your first! ๐Ÿ˜€

          Like

          1. It’s a deal! You will be my first ๐Ÿ™‚ Yay!

            Like

            1. So excited!! ๐Ÿ˜€

              Like

  2. Haha! I could write a similar post. Hmm… let me think…. I can’t stand when people say “of” instead of “have” in sentences like this: “I could have punched you” becomes “I could OF punched you.”

    What does that even mean?!
    Nothing. It means nothing.

    Like

  3. hahahaha this post is so hilarious!! i totally agree with some of those!! I’d like to say all of them but truth be told i am some of those things (lets not go into detail). Personally I really don’t like people who think they’re all that, or who make everything about themselves. its quite annoying ๐Ÿ˜› haha

    Like

    1. in my previous comment, in case you thought I was impying that you were, I actually wasn’t, truly!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ you are really kind!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    2. Yaay! I’m glad you liked it ๐Ÿ˜€
      Where I work, there’s such a variety of people. You can see sooo many different personality types and variations of diva-personality. It’s kinda kind of exhausting!
      Thanks so much for taking out the time to read this! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think interesting people tend to seem difficult to those who don’t have the patience to get to know them. Kudos for a fun read !

    Like

  5. I’m on board for much of your list, especially Liars. I can’t stand—and have no respect for—people who think it’s okay to lie with a straight face about facts or events. At least lie with a crooked smirk or something. Little white lies are one thing, sometimes necessary to avoid hurting someone, but if no one’s feelings are at stake there’s no excuse.

    Like

    1. I total agree. White lies are okay. But lying for no reason at all. I’m surrounded by liars like you won’t believe. No wonder I don’t trust people easily.
      Thanks for reading, by the way!

      Like

  6. Hahah this was so funny Zareen..looks like we have a lot in common..I hate all the above..and totally hate when a person trails off in the course of a coversation..lovely blog..so glad I stopped by.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Hey how are you? I remember you I read an interview on Ronovan’s blog of you!

      I’m glad you enjoyed what you read. Thank you so much for your kind words XOXO

      Like

  7. you are funny the way you get your point across is so brilliant. keep writing! i love this one is my favorite

    Like

  8. A very interesting stream of thoughts…loved it.

    Like

    1. Hey thanks for reading it. Your comment means a lot. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Look forward to your valuable views on my blog…

        Like

Your thoughts?

