Troubles of a baby blogger

 

 

So lately, I haven’t been getting any like or comments on my posts. You know that feeling when you meet someone new? And it’s so great because they have such fresh ideas and you think you’ve never met anyone like them? Until you start seeing them everyday and all that “new-ness” and all that shine and excitement of getting to know that person ends because..well, now you actually know them. Has the same happened to me? Have I lost my charm?

The drought of likes or comments drove me to my SOS system. Googling. My God, this is like a disease. I Google every freaking thing. Anyway, so I literally googled “why no one was reading my blog” and it seems like I wasn’t the only victim. A lot of bloggers who have just started to blog feel the same way.

I even looked at the “101 Blogging tips” on wordpress. They were pretty helpful. And then I read something that said “you have to know your audience“.

To be very honest, when I started this blog I was scared that no one was ever going to read. I had predicted that I would have a “writer’s block” and wouldn’t be able to produce more than a few, mediocre posts that weren’t even remotely funny. And the horror of any of my friends ever finding out! Oh! Only reason why my posts aren’t automatically updated to face book but only to Twitter (because Twitter is okay- I hardly use it and most of the people I am “following” are either celebrities or have only met me virtually).

And knowing your audience? When I started out I thought the only people who’d be reading my blog were 20 year olds like me, who were also ranting about pretty much the same stuff. But I was wrong. You can opt for a particular audience “type” but I don’t want to.

I want everyone to read it. Anyone,  anywhere in the world who could relate to what I’m writing. Or me. And I’m happy that I have come this far and I feel that with every post I’m getting more comfortable.

I’m also thinking of including a section in my blog that offers advice. I am no expert on life but I think it will be quite helpful. I offer my friends advice. Like all the time. Still, I’m not an expert. But I think it can be cool. Even if I’m just lending a ear you know? What do you think?

I have been reading two books, “The Paris Wife” by Paula Mclain and “The other side of the story” by Marian Keyes. Expect some reviews in the coming posts.

                                     

 

Till then, a bientot!

6 comments

  1. wormtape · · Reply

    Aww, that’s okay. It’s great you’re getting to know people online. Maybe you can try using more tags, so people know what to search for. Personally, I first wanted to use WordPress so I can have a go-to place to rant, somewhere I can just type and organize my thoughts without anyone I personally know seeing it. I didn’t know it was also an awesome community 😀

    Like

    1. Yeah, that was one of the tips I read. Thanks 🙂
      I really like it here and make it a point to share the stuff I read here. Its so good 🙂

      Like

  2. I understand completely! I’ve been through those dry spells, especially in the beginning. The best advice I ever received was to visit blogs and comment. That’s your calling card. No one will know about you unless you stop by their blog and say “hello!”. That’s how I met YOU. And because I follow like 5 billion blogs, a lot of times I only end up with time to read blogs of people who commented on a post of mine, you know?
    The second best advice I ever heard was to write what you feel. Never, ever for any expectation (real or assumed), never for a particular audience (unless you’re a niche blog), and always from your heart. That way you’ll find your writing voice and build an audience.

    I happen to adore your writing voice, so I say, just keep up the good work. It’ll come. 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s a relief to find out the only one experiencing this. Dry spells? It’s so appropriate haha why didn’t I think of it?!
      And yeah, I know what you mean. I’ll try and read a lot more!
      Thanks for your advice 🙂 it means soooo much to me and I’ll keep it in mind with the next thing I write! Thank you thank you thank you 🙂

      Like

  3. Someone needs to make a blogger conference or something in France somewhere and we should go 😀 Seriously though, I totally understand what it’s like to sometimes have nobody reading your blog and sometimes having many people read it. I am also in my 20s, but want to be able to speak to all ages. Of course it is important to have a focus personally and be aware of your audience.

    Like

    1. Really glad I’m nt the only one. I guess from time to time we do suffer from stuff like this. Patience is key.

      Like

Your thoughts?

