Jared Leto wins Best Supporting Actor

I don’t know if I can post something so random. I haven’t written in a few days because I couldn’t bring myself to because of some stuff that I’m going through. But I REALLY wanted to share something that made me happy.

I’m not an early riser. But I still got up to watch the Oscars today at like freaking 5:30 a.m this morning.

I was a) watching it for Jared Leto and b) watching it just to comment on whose wearing what and c) not because I wanted to see whether Leonardo DiCaprio is going to win this year

I don’t know whether it was pure luck or coincidence, that the only category I was interested in was the first announcement of the show. My heart practically started beating a million times faster when they called out Jared Leto’s name for the Best Actor in a Supporting Role for his portrayal of Rayon in Dallas Buyers Club . I screamed like a teenager (until my mom woke up and inquired what the fuss was about) and tweeted like crazy because well, that’s what you do nowadays.

His acceptance speech was truly heart-touching. Here’s a link: http://entertainment.time.com/2014/03/02/oscars-2014-jared-letos-amazing-acceptance-speech-for-supporting-actor/

Here’s the best part:

To all the dreamers out there around the world watching this tonight in places like Ukraine and Venezuela, I want to to say we are here, and as you struggle to make your dreams happen and live the impossible, we are thinking of you tonight.

This is for the 36 million people who have lost the battle to AIDS. And to those of you who have ever felt injustice because of who you are and who you love, I stand here in front of the world with you and for you.

I like him. I like that he says stuff that motivates people and encourages people to follow their dreams, no matter how hard or unreal they might seem. Rather than trying to suck out the life from people and bombarding them with negativity, we should try and be more positive. And we should dream. Dream big.

I think we need more people like him.

 

Your thoughts?

