The irritaitng co-worker

I don’t understand why there’s so much drama in my work life. The only thing I can do is write about it in a way that might make people laugh. At least, someone’s enjoying it.

So my boss recently hired this nice but irritating 19 year old girl. Everyone says and it is true, that she does look a lot like me. Even I started pretty young- only 18 years old. So naturally I had a soft spot for her since I could relate to her in so many ways. Initially she did try to become instant-best-friends but I told her nicely (how do you refuse someone and be nice at the same time?) that I’m not very open and I take a lot of time before be-friend-ing people. Turns out, I SHOULD have taken a lot of time.

The thing with me is that I’m not very girly. Hell, i ain’t even remotely girly. I hug very selective people. And I don’t like girls kissing me on my cheek at every “cute” or “adorable” thing I say. And I don’t like people sending flying kisses to me across the reception counter. But because it would have been so impolite to tell her to act professionally, I played a long. The other thing is that although she was always sweet with me, she was too loud. Even her whispers could be heard from across the room. And the way she would talk…god. Trying so hard to be so mature yet proving immaturity at every word. Still, I didn’t say anything about how she was irritating the crap out of me. Until it got a bit too much. And she started creeping under my skin.Things were smooth until something happened, something small blown out of proportion.

Our security staff does everything but their job: securing the guests. Their duties comprise of : being up to date as to who’s dating who, who’s going to dinner/lunch with whom and all the latest gossip. So I over heard that people from the security department thought that S and this guy whom she used to hang out with a lot were dating. She had told me ( and I still believe her) that there was nothing going on between them. But just to be safe I told her to keep herself at a distant.Soon she’d no longer be the new girl and everyone would forget about her. No one would care. All she had to do was wait. The more I told her to distant herself, the more guys she found to hang out with. On top of that, she liked “irritating” everyone. I swear she would have such childish conversations with people and at a point she did become very irritating. And when someone used to reply to her in a rude way, she would go all quiet and play victim. ” I was just trying to make them laugh”. Sure, you were hon. By irritating the crap out of them. It’s totally their fault that they didn’t have a higher threshold.

She had such a casual attitude towards work. Which I don’t hold against her because she didn’t need the job. But it did disturb our routine. Anything I said wasn’t taken seriously and replied with a flying kiss. Even when we were on reception. I mean, really?

So one day she went to the BC with this new guy. Apparently, she just wanted to teach him a few things about the business centre. Even though I stopped her from going, she went anyway. And took a whacking 20 minutes to return. Because teaching someone to turn the computer on and off requires full twenty minutes. I told a co-worker of mine about this and he went to the BC and told her to come back. Furious that it might start off some crazy new rumor, because a very similar incident had happened to me because of that place, I told her to not talk to me because she never listens to me. She tried coming to me after that, trying to know what I was talking about but I just kept quite.

Next thing I know, she’s crying. Like literally crying big wolf tears falling down her cheeks. Because people are “talking about her character”. Oh please, no one said nothing about anyone’s character. Next day, she came to work. Late. No one said a fucking thing. I didn’t talk to her even though she and I sort-a made up the night before. I told her that I wasn’t going to say anything to anyone and she could do whatever the hell she felt like. That’s why I said we “sorta” made up.

The day after that, she didn’t turn up at all. She wasn’t feeling well. Yes, because so many people talking about her character had made her sick. Whatever. I knew from the very start that this sick thing was an act but kept my mouth shut. The next day, she didn’t turn up. Again. And no one said a fucking word. Why? I have no clue. Had it been me, they would have sent a freaking car to my home to make me come to work. Moreover, we found a resignation letter saved on her computer. Just to be clear, we weren’t going through her stuff. It’s a general computer and we found it saved on the desktop. If she would have had the guts, she would have made the effort of pressing ctrl + p on her keyboard and then slipping the paper in an envelope and placing it on my boss’s table.

On Saturday, which was her off according to the roster, she came to meet our boss. As employees, we aren’t allowed to enter from the front gate. I’m pretty sure she knew that wasn’t allowed but being her normal self ( you know when people are young and they couldn’t bother obeying to the rules and regulations of an environment? She is at that stage) this wasn’t a surprise. As soon as I saw her, I immediately turned and left the reception. She didn’t see me which was a blessing because I didn’t want to make any awkward small talk with her. Then she spent the rest of the two hours with my boss and her mother inside my boss’s office.  She brought her mother to discuss a work issue with my boss. That alone should be able to tell you the level of her maturity. Plus, the only voice you could hear was hers. I couldn’t make out what she was saying but I’m pretty sure she told him everything.

Later, my boss called me and asked me if the two of us had a fight. I narrated the whole incident of how we went from so called best buds to people that couldn’t hug each other any more because of the hate vibes we were sending each other. How I was trying to help her out because I had faced the same things when I joined. All I wanted was to warn her and to not let her make the mistakes I did. But my boss said that it wasn’t my duty to protect her. That was kind of a slap on my face. Had I crossed my boundaries by trying to give someone advice? Apparently yes. My boss said that he had dealt with the issue.

How I expected my boss to deal with the issue: Telling her to go fuck her self because we had such a talented employee (me) that he didn’t need any daddy’s-rich-girl G.R.O who has the maturity level of a seven year old.

How he dealt with it: By giving her three days off.

You can not imagine the height of my furious-ness. I had to go to my mom’s sister’s house on Sunday and the only reason I turned her down was because if I had taken a leave on that day, there would have been no G.R.O in the evening shift. But apparently it is okay and no big deal since my boss gave her an off ( THREE OFFS) even though he knew that doing so meant that there was no G.R.O in the morning shift.

That mad-ass boss!

So next time any of my senior says anything to me, that is exactly what I’m going to do. Come to the duty manager crying and then come the next day just to pretend everything is okay and then not come for the next two days. I will turn up the day I’m technically off from work and come to work with my mother and even she, who’s biologically programmed to love me, will not support me in front of my boss! Haha!

So she’s joining from tomorrow. Looking forward to a very awkward conversation with her. I don’t know if I should be reserved with her or act like my usual self minus the big-sister thing I had started.

But I have learned my lesson. No more miss nice-girl-offering-free-advice-to-people-who-don’t-deserve-it. I am just waiting for Oct 23rd.

7 comments

  1. I love it awesome.. I also hate these mummy daddy kids

    Like

    1. Hahaha! Thanks love!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. WOW I was not expecting it to end like that, I figured she would just go away. I can’t believe she brought her Mom in to meet with her boss… that’s beyond embarrassing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I failed to understand as to why he didn’t accept her resignation!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Looks like you have your own little “zoo” too…I just had to dig thru your blogs to find your this post on co workers! I would love to transfer them to Mars 😉

    Like

  4. I didn’t know teenagers entered ‘a Hood’. Does that make you a former hoodlum? Hold on! Adults enter a hood as well. Oh dear – we’re all arsed. Can I just call you Z3?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha you can call me whatever you like 🙂

      Like

Your thoughts?

